Dwyane Wade Thanks Rajon Rondo for Time with Bulls After PG’s Release

Dwyane Wade put old rifts aside Friday and thanked Rajon Rondo for his service to the Chicago Bulls after the team waived the floor general to free up cap space in advance of free agency. 

In his parting message, Wade told Rondo he “enjoyed learning” from him during their year together in the Windy City: 

While Wade buried the hatchet Friday, he publicly traded verbal jabs with Rondo during a turbulent January stretch. 

Following a fourth-quarter meltdown at the hands of the Atlanta Hawks, Wade cast blame on seemingly every Bulls player not named Jimmy Butler. 

“I don’t know if they care enough,” Wade said of his teammates, per ESPN.com’s Nick Friedell. “So I can’t say it is. I wish I could say that everyone in here is going to go home and not eat tonight. I can’t say that. I wish I could, but I don’t know that they care enough.

“I can look at Jimmy and say Jimmy’s doing his job. Jimmy can look at me and say Dwyane’s doing his job. I don’t know if we can keep going down the line and be able to say that.”

Rondo responded with a post on Instagram slamming Wade and Butler for complaining to the media rather than settling things behind closed doors. 

“My vets would never go to the media,” he wrote. “They would come to the team. My vets didn’t pick and choose when they wanted to bring it. They brought it every time they stepped in the gym whether it was practice or a game. They didn’t take days off.”

With that quarrel a thing of the past, Rondo and Wade will now head down different paths. 

Wade will stick with the rebuilding Bulls for the time being after he picked up his $23.8 million player option for the 2017-18 season, while Rondo can entertain offers from teams in need of reinforcements at point guard as he gets set to become a free agent. 

Read more NBA news on BleacherReport.com

from Bleacher Report – NBA http://ift.tt/2t0M5Qc
via IFTTT

Leave a Reply

